ISO 9001:2015 transition guidance

The ISO 9001:2015 QMS standard was published on 30th  September 2015 with a 3 year transition period until 30th September 2018. Since the latter end of 2015, CARES have provided training to all assessors for the transition to ISO 9001:2015.

However, it is CARES intention to offer certification to the new standard only when accreditation for the new standard has been progressed with UKAS.

This process has commenced and a provisional date in November 2016 has been agreed for a CARES Head Office assessment. This will be followed by an assessment by CARES at a CARES client company who has transitioned to the new standard, which will be witnessed by UKAS. Subject to a satisfactory Head Office and Witnessed Assessment, CARES expect accreditation to follow shortly after.

This letter provides guidance for the transition process from BS EN ISO 9001:2008 to BS EN ISO 9001:2015.

BS EN ISO 9001:2015 Structure

The new standard follows the same overall structure as other ISO management system standards such as ISO 14001. The standard is now based on Annex SL of the ISO/IEC Directives part 1 (the rules for developing ISO standards). This standardises clause titles, common terms and core definitions to enhance compatibility and alignment with other ISO management systems standards.

Validity of certifications and applications (new users) to ISO 9001:2008

ISO 9001:2008 certification will not be valid after 30th September 2018. The expiry date of certificates to ISO 9001: 2008 issued during the transition period will not extend beyond 30th September 2018.

CARES will not accept new applications to BS EN ISO 9001:2008 after July 2017.

Organisations currently certified by CARES to ISO 9001:2008

CARES certified companies using ISO 9001:2008 are advised to take the following actions as soon as possible:-

a) Familiarize yourself with the new document. Some things have changed but many remain the same

b) Identify organisational gaps which need to be addressed to meet the new requirements

c) Develop an implementation plan

d) Provide appropriate training and awareness for all parties that have an impact on the effectiveness of the organization

e) Update the existing QMS to meet the revised requirements and provide verification of effectiveness.

CARES Approach to the Transition and Timetable

ISO 9001:2015 introduces a number of new requirements and CARES need to ensure that each approved company has made the necessary adjustments and additions to their processes and competencies to address these changes. Furthermore, although CARES have many assessors who have successfully completed the transition training, it is our policy to only offer certification to our clients once UKAS accreditation has been achieved. The transition process consists of:-

a) June 2016 – August 2016. CARES will amend documentation used to support the audit process as appropriate to achieve compliance with ISO 9001:2015.

b) September 2016. CARES will submit an application and supporting documents to UKAS for review.

c) November 2016.  UKAS will carry out an assessment at the CARES head Office.

d) December 2016 -January 2017. CARES will be witnessed by UKAS at an audit where the client has implemented ISO 9001:2015.

e) September 2016 – April 2017. CARES certified companies will complete a transition gap analysis and send to CARES.

f) April 2017 – March 2018. CARES will conduct transition assessments at the time of an approved company’s surveillance or re-certification audit. (Extra time may be required to cover additional activities such as the review of the gap analysis and related documentation)

Please feel free to contact Gary Rogers, should you require further information.

Return to news articles